Cold Weather
Rule Helps

Prevent ’
Shut-Offs /

By Contessa Poole-King

Did you know that if you or
someone you know is struggling
financially and is without heat in
their home or having difficulty
paying the utility bill this winter
there’s a law that could help keep
the house warm? The Missouri
Public Service Commission’s
Cold Weather Rule (CWR) may
be able to help keep the house
warm or get the heat turned
on by providing an option
to enter into a more lenient
payment arrangement with
the natural gas and electric
company.

From October 1 to
November 15, 2010,
the Public Service
Commission’s Consumer
Services Department
handled over 330
calls from consumers
regarding the restoration of their utility service
for the winter heating season.

“Once temperatures start to drop, consumers
realize the importance of restoring their heating
services for health and safety purposes,” said
PSC Consumer Services Department Manager
Gay Fred. “Lower evening temperatures tends
to increase the number of people calling our
department requesting assistance with re-
establishing heating service.”

Fred said that “many of those who contact
our office are seeking help in paying their utility
bills.” She noted that “although we don’t have
energy assistance funds at the Public Service
Commission, we can provide valuable contact
information to help them in their efforts to seek
financial help.”

From November 1 to March 31, qualified
residential customers can maintain or restore
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heat related utility service for less than the full
amount owed simply by contacting the utility
company; declaring an inability to pay the

bill in full; making a minimum payment; and
establishing a Cold Weather Rule payment
agreement with their utility provider. The rule
allows customers to budget payments over 12
months, extend payment of preexisting arrears
over a reasonable period beyond 12 months and
if the payment agreement is kept, a deposit is not
required.

The Missouri Public Service Commission
adopted the Cold Weather Rule in 1977 to protect
the health and safety of residential customers.
Since that time the rule has helped over two
million Missourians. In addition to promoting
customer friendly payment terms, the rule places
restrictions on disconnecting and refusing to
provide heat related service from November 1
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through March 31 due to
delinquent customer accounts.
For elderly and disabled
customers who register with the
utility company and who make
a minimum payment, service
disconnection during the cold
winter months is prohibited.

The rule also prohibits the
disconnection of heat-related
service when the National
Weather Service predicts the
temperature will drop below 32
degrees during the following
24-hour period. However, if
you are already disconnected
the utility company is not
required to reconnect your
service if the temperature
drops below 32 degrees.

Since its inception, the
Commission has modified the
rule many times to preserve
the health and safety of
Missourians. Increased
volatility of natural gas markets
was a large factor leading to
the most recent revision.

In 2006, the Cold Weather
Rule was amended to provide
additional protections for
natural gas customers.
Natural gas as well as electric
customers who have not
broken a Cold Weather Rule
payment agreement can avoid
disconnection or have service
reconnected for an initial
payment of 12 percent of the
total amount due under the
budget plan, unless the utility
and the customer agree to a
different amount.

For a customer who has
broken a Cold Weather Rule
agreement, an initial payment
of up to 80 percent of the
customer’s total balance is
necessary to maintain or
receive heat related service.
However, because of changes
to the rule in 2006, a natural
gas customer who defaults,
can keep service by making an
initial payment of 50 percent
of the outstanding balance or
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Food pantries,

Work initiatives,
Support for seniors

Other Assistance Agencies:

- 573-634-2969 -
www.communityaction.org

Connect with 2-1-1

United Way 2-1-1 connects people
with available community resources
and volunteer opportunities. 2-1-1 will
connect you to hundreds of services
in your community. When you dial
2-1-1, you will reach a trained, caring
professional 7 days a week, 24 hours a day, who can provide
referrals to valuable health and human services. By dialing
three dlglts you can receive information on:

Utility and rent assistance,
Warming and cooling shelters,

United Way - Missouri *

227

Get Connected. Get Answers.

Physical and mental health resources,

Support for those with disabilities, and much much more
If 2-1-1 is not yet active with your phone provider, you can

reach a 2-1-1 call center by dialing 1-800-427-4626.
For an emergency, please call 911.

Missouri Association of Community Action

Since its inception, the Commission
has modified the rule many times
to preserve the health and safety of

Missourians.

$500, whichever is less, with the
remaining amount deferred to
be paid in a Cold Weather Rule
payment agreement plan over

12 months. A natural gas utility
will not be required to offer the
more lenient payment terms to
keep service on or to reconnect a
customer more than once every
two years or when a customer
has defaulted on a Cold Weather
Rule payment plan under this
amendment three or more times.
In those situations, customers
would be required to pay 80
percent of the outstanding
balance to keep service or to
have service restored.

The Commission’s Cold
Weather Rule is a required
framework for regulated
utilities to follow. However,
utilities may have other low-
income programs or more
lenient payment plans beyond
those required by the Cold
Weather Rule.

For more information
about the Cold Weather
Rule or utility specific plans
contact your utility company
or the Missouri Public Service
Commission’s toll free number
at 1-800-392-4211.

-- Contessa Poole-King works in the
PSC’s Consumer Services Department.




